Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

COVID-19 What Next…? | Levelling the education playing field under COVID-19…and beyond

8 July, 2020
10:00 am
- 11:30 am

In the webinar series COVID-19 What Next….?, get insights from regional and global experts on the key issues arising from the pandemic.

For the first time, university students have no campus to return to after their unplanned school break. Meanwhile, parents working from home are agitated by the ill-organised Zoom classes their children are attending. However, the most unfortunate learners are those who can no longer learn because they are not connected to the (not-so) World Wide Web.  

While the pandemic is wreaking havoc with our education systems, has it also exposed some of their deep rooted problems? Is this an opportunity to reinvent education for the uncertainties of the 21st century? Join our panel of international experts to find out what they are doing about it.

 

MEET THE PANELLISTS 

Ms Sooinn Lee is the co-founder and CEO of Enuma Inc., a Silicon Valley EdTech company, and the co-winner of the USD15M Global Learning XPrize. Enuma’s learning apps Kitkit School, Todo Math and Todo English are motivating millions of young children from around the world (including underserved kids in rural African villages and refugee camps) learn essential literacy and numeracy skills independently.

Dr Ethel Agnes P. Valenzuela is the Secretariat Director of the Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO). She played leadership roles in several functions of SEAMEO since 2006 and gained extensive experience in international education. She had also served the Philippine government through the Commission on Higher Education and contributed to key UNESCO and UNICEF regional programmes.

Mr Philipp Schmidt is the Director of Learning Innovation at the MIT Media Lab, where he leads learning initiatives and conducts research on learning communities. He is also a co-founder of Peer2Peer University (P2PU), a network of grassroot learning communities in 194 cities. He has received Ashoka and Shuttleworth fellowships, and served on the founding board of the OpenCourseWare Consortium.

 

HOST & MODERATOR

Prof Tikki Pangestu is a Visiting Professor at NUS’s Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine. Prior to this, he taught at NUS’s Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, and was the Director of Research Policy & Cooperation for WHO in Geneva for 13 years. As a passionate educator, he has been teaching at the undergraduate and postgraduate levels for 40 years, in the fields of microbiology, immunology, global health and public policy.

FREE REGISTRATION

Date   : 8 July 2020, Wednesday
Time   : 10.00am – 11.30am (GMT +8)

Time references for major cities:

San Francisco: 7 Jul (Tues) 7.00pm – 8.30pm
New York: 7 Jul (Tues) 10.00pm – 11.30pm
London: 8 Jul (Wed) 3.00am– 4.30am
New Delhi: 8 Jul (Wed) 7.30am – 9.00am
Bangkok: 8 Jul (Wed) 9.00am – 10.30am
Jakarta: 8 Jul (Wed) 9.00am – 10.30am
Beijing: 8 Jul (Wed) 10.00am – 11.30am
Manila: 8 Jul (Wed) 10.00am – 11.30am
Kuala Lumpur: 8 Jul (Wed) 10.00am – 11.30am
Seoul: 8 Jul (Wed) 11.00am – 12.30pm
Sydney: 8 Jul (Wed) 12.00 noon – 1.30pm

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email with details on how to join the webinar. We look forward to welcoming you to our event.

Disclaimer: The views expressed by the speakers in this webinar are their own and do not represent the opinions of The HEAD Foundation.

 

Details

Date:
8 July, 2020
Time:
10:00 am - 11:30 am
Website:
https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/5615929706763/WN_vhqv0IbSRxuVoNdJW4TfPQ

Venue

Webinar

Organizer

The HEAD Foundation
Phone:
+ 65 6672 6160
Email:
rsvp@headfoundation.org
Website:
https://headfoundation.org/