fbpx

Getting AI Right in Education

Dialogues - Getting AI Right in Education - webpost pre-event

Artificial Intelligence (AI) tools suddenly popped out of high-tech labs and into the mainstream in 2023 with the arrival of ChatGPT and other similar engines. The impact on all the stakeholders in education —­ policymakers, educators and students — is immense. AI can now write papers and give answers on almost any topic. It has placed educators in a dilemma: to embrace AI or not to embrace?

How can we use these new tools, which are rapidly evolving and gathering pace, in our schools and colleges? What are some of the issues and challenges to ensure responsible use of AI in teaching and learning?

Join this Dialogue on 25 April 2024 at 3pm (GMT +8) featuring a panel of experts who will address these issues.

This event is organised in partnership with Singapore Education Consulting Group (SECG).

 
This event is in a virtual format — you may participate online via Zoom.

Register Now!

After registration attendees will receive a confirmation email with details on how to join the webinar.

We look forward to welcoming you to our event.

Join the webinar

Meet the Speakers

Dr Grandee Lee is a lecturer at the School of Science and Technology, Singapore University of Social Sciences (SUSS). He is an educator, researcher and user of Large Language Models (LLMs) and constantly assesses their potential and pitfalls in educational applications. Before joining SUSS, he was a research fellow at the Human Language Technology lab at the National University of Singapore and also obtained his PhD in the same lab. His current research interests include Edtech and learning assessment. He has experienced the use of LLMs first-hand as an educator and will expound on how institutions should respond to the challenge of assessment.
Dr Agus Budi Raharjo is a lecturer at the Informatics Department at Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember (ITS), Indonesia. His research activities involve deep learning, data science, cloud computing, and software engineering. He is interested in re-shaping data science deployment by considering micro-services architecture and its reliability. His current focus is the application of data science to assist physicians in diagnosis (in collaboration with partners in Indonesia and France).
Rudy Hakeem is the founder of Akademi, an AI learning platform that spans Singapore, Malaysia, and Indonesia. Rudy has accumulated over a decade of experience in both technology and education within MOE schools. This unique blend of expertise fuels his commitment to transforming the educational landscape through AI, positioning him at the cutting edge of developing AI-driven learning solutions. Passionate about advancing educational engagement and outcomes, Rudy is a pioneer in integrating artificial intelligence into the classroom.

Moderator

After 16 years as an engineering educator, Dr N Varaprasad accumulated over 35 years of experience in higher education and management. He was the founding Principal/CEO of the highly innovative Temasek Polytechnic and for a short period was Deputy President at the National University of Singapore (NUS). He became chief executive of the National Library Board (NLB) for a further six years, overseeing the National Library and the network of public libraries in Singapore.

Currently he is the managing partner of Singapore Education Consulting Group, a global education consulting and training company in Singapore and has consulted for the World Bank and Asian Development Bank in the area of TVET and university leadership.

Washington DC: 3.00am – 4.30am
London: 8.00am – 9.30am
New Delhi: 12.30pm – 2.00pm
Bangkok/Hanoi/Jakarta: 2.00pm – 3.30pm
Beijing/Manila/Singapore/Kuala Lumpur: 3.00pm – 4.30pm
Seoul/Tokyo: 4.00pm – 5.30pm
Sydney: 6.00pm – 7.30pm
Days
Hours
Minutes
Seconds

Disclaimer: The views expressed by the speakers in this webinar are their own and do not represent the opinions of The HEAD Foundation.

Join our mailing list

Stay updated on all the latest news and events