In the Wake of a Changing Climate: The Resource Challenge in Southeast Asia

WEBPAGE_ Webinar - In the Wake of a Changing Climate 1

Latest Posts

Southeast Asia is poised to emerge as the world’s 4th largest economy. This means that the demand for water, energy, and food will continue to grow. With the region already facing challenges securing these resources, these challenges will intensify with climate change.
 
Held in partnership with the NUS Centre for Nature-based Climate Solutions“In the Wake of a Changing Climate” is a four-part panel discussion series to explore the water-energy-food nexus in the context of our warming climate. This introductory webinar will explore the integrated, interconnected, and complex nature of the three resources, and the solutions needed to manage the water-energy-food nexus.
 
Join us and learn more from our panel of global climate experts.

Meet the Panellists

Prof. Chris Field

Prof. Chris Field is the Faculty Director at Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment. Prof. Field’s climate change research focuses on solutions that improve lives now, decrease the amount of future warming, and support vibrant economies. He is deeply involved in national and international efforts to advance understanding of global ecology and change, and served from 2008 – 2015 as co-chair of Working Group II of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.

Associate Prof. Katharine Mach is Associate Professor at the University of Miami Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science. A/Prof. Mach’s research assesses climate change risks and response options to address increased flooding, extreme heat, wildfire, and other hazards. She is the 2020 recipient of the Piers Sellers Prize for world leading contribution to solution-focused climate research. She was actively involved as co-director of Working Group II of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change from 2010 – 2015.

Dr. Hezri Adnan

Dr. Hezri Adnan is Distinguished Fellow at the Institute of Strategic and International Studies Malaysia. Dr. Adnan has a PhD in Public Policy from the Australian National University, and specialises in sustainable development solutions in areas like green economy and natural resources governance. He served as a Member of the United Nations’ International Resource Panel (IRP) from 2015 to 2018. He is also the former CEO of the Langkawi Development Authority.

Moderator

Prof. Koh Lian Pin is the Director at the NUS Centre for Nature-based Climate Solutions. Prof. Koh is one of the most highly cited conservation scientists in Asia, a TED-Global speaker, Founding Director of ConservationDrones.org, and a World Economic Forum Young Global Leader. He has most recently been appointed a Nominated Member of Parliament. He brings 16 years of international research experience in the field of sustainability and environmental science. In 2020, he returned to Singapore under the National Research Foundation’s Returning Singaporean Scientists scheme to join NUS.

San Francisco: 14 June, Monday, 7.00 – 8.30pm
Washington DC: 14 June, Monday, 10.00 – 11.30pm 
London: 15 June, Tuesday, 3.00 – 4.30am
New Delhi: 15 June, Tuesday, 7.30 – 9.00am
Bangkok/Jakarta: 15 June, Tuesday, 9.00 – 10.30am
Beijing/Manila: 15 June, Tuesday, 10.00 – 11.30am
Kuala Lumpur: 15 June, Tuesday, 10.00 – 11.30am
Seoul/Tokyo: 15 June, Tuesday, 11.00am – 12.30pm
Sydney: 15 June, Tuesday, 12.00 noon – 1.30pm

Register Now!

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email with details on how to join the webinar. We look forward to welcoming you to our event.

Click here to register
Days
Hours
Minutes
Seconds

Disclaimer: The views expressed by the speakers in this webinar are their own and do not represent the opinions of The HEAD Foundation.

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print

Mr Ho Swee Huat

Mr Ho Swee Huat is the Founder and Managing Director of Abacus Assets Advisors Pte Ltd. Before starting the company, he had an established career in the banking industry, with 20 years of experience in Singapore, Hong Kong and New York.

He was an Independent Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee of CapitaCommercial Trust Management LTD from 2004 to 2013.

He is the current Chairman of Autism Association (Singapore) which he co-founded with a group of parents in 1992. He is also Vice-Chairman of Eden School, a special school for children with autism.

Mr Ho holds a Master’s degree from the London School of Economics and Political Science, and a Liberal Arts degree in Economics from Hamilton College, USA.

He has been a member of the Board of the Foundation since its incorporation.